Welcome to the Official Website of Dharmasoka College Old Boys’ Chess Association


Dhamso Girls won the 23rd Battle of Kings for the 5th consecutive Year

Dharmasoka college Boys won the 5th place among 62 schools in 23rd Battle of the Kings 2019 organized by Royal College, Colombo 7 while Dharmasoka College Girls won the Championship in Girls category for the 5th consecutive time.

Winning Team with the Vishwa & Kasun

Annual General Meeting of the Dharmasoka College Old Boys’ Chess Association

Annual General Meeting was held on 16th February 2019 at the Auditorium of Dharmasoka College. Following members were elected to the year 2019.

President – Malith Akalanka
Secretary – Kasun Wimalasuriya
Treasurer – Nathasha Sanali
Vice President – Upul Fernando
Assistant Secretary – Vishwa Kodikara

Executive Committee Members

Gihan Kanchana
Buddhi Rasathmaka
Mahindi Maduwage
Isuru Rajapaksha
Kavindu Thanusha
Minura Sandamith

Coaching program for the upcoming Asian Youth & the National Schools

A successfully coaching program for upcoming Asian Youth Chess Championship & National schools Chess Championship was held on 19th February 2019 at Auditorium of Dharmasoka College. It was mainly focused for the players in under 17 & 13 categories who were selected for above-mentioned events. This was conducted by well-known Coach, Mr Gihan Kanchana De Silva who is also a proud product of Dhamso. We always appreciate his valuable service to our Alma Mater to uplift the Dhamso Chess.

Annual Inter-House Sportsmeet 2019 – Chess

Annual Inter-House chess championship successfully held on 16th February and also players who performed well in 2019 was appreciated.
Inter-House results
Championship – Gamunu House
1st runners up – Vijaya House
Third place – Parakkrama House
Fourth place – Asoka House

Sri Lanka Schools’ Individual Chess Championship 2019 – Galle District

Galle district selection event of the Inter-Schools’ Individual Chess Championship 2019 was held at Dharmasoka College from 22nd to 24th February 2019 at Dharmasoka College. Over 50 Sokians were selected for the finals with great performances. Wish you all the best for the selected players in Finals.

•Under 7 Girls –
Asini Lehansa – champion

•Under 9 Girls – 
Tanudi Amasha – equal champion
Gihansa Sasithmi – equal champion

•Under 11 Girls – 
Esandi Newasana -Champion
Minudi Dewinidi – 2nd runners up

•Under 11 Boys – 
Savitha Nimsanda – Champion

•Under 13 Girls – 
Miyuni Gamage – Champion
Methushi Amaya – 2nd runners up
D.A.Kalassooriya – 2nd runners up

•Under 17 Girls – 
Siluni Newinka – equal Champion 
Sanuki Waduge – equal champion

•Under 13 Girls – 
Miyuni Gamage – Champion
Methushi Amaya – 2nd runners up
D.A.Kalassooriya – 2nd runners up

•Under 17 Girls – 
Siluni Newinka – equal Champion 
Sanuki Waduge – equal champion

Inter-Schools Individual Chess Championship 2019

Esandi Thewansa became 2nd Runner Up in the Under 11 Girls Category. The Event was concluded on 04th March 2019 at Royal College, Polonnaruwa. She will eligible for the upcoming Asian Schools & World Schools Events.

Simultaneous Games Session was held with GM Maxim Novik from Russia

Blitz games session was held with Grand Master Maxim. It was a fun event for motivate and uplift the spirit of the young players in Dhamso.

National Major & Women’s Qualifying Chess Championships 2019 – Galle Division

Miyuni Nuwanthi Gamage from Dharmasoka College won the Galle Division Women’s Qualifying Chess Championship 2019 & Thisal Manjith Piyumatha secured the first runner up position in Galle Division Major Chess Championship 2019.
Also, Methushi Amaya, Sayumi Piyumanthi, Gethu Nathasha, Suheli Fernando and Vihini Sahansa were selected for the upcoming Women’s National B event.
Yomal Baratha secured the opportunity to play in upcoming National B Chess Championship by coming under top 20 in Majors. Past Sokians, Elath Mathanga, Navoda jayarathna and Pamudu Ranasingha were amoung the selected for Upcoming National B Chess Championship.

National Youth Rapid & Blitz Chess Championships 2019

WCM Sayuni Gihansa Jayaweera became the champion of Under 18 Girls Rapid Category and M Thisal Manjith Piyumantha won the Championship in Under 14 Boys Blitz Category. Parallelly following players were able to secure their positions in respective categories.

Under 10 Girls – Rapid Event
Esandi Newasana – 2nd Runner Up

Under 12 Girls – Rapid Event
Suheli Fernando – Equal Second Runner Up
Sayumi Piyumanthi – Equal Second Runner Up

Under 14 Boys – Rapid Event
Thisal Manjith Piyumantha – Second Runner Up

New Year Greetings 2019

ලබන්නාවූ සිංහල සහ හින්දු නව වසර ඔබ සැමට කිරියෙන් පැණියෙන් ඉතිරෙන සුබම සුබ නව වසරක් වේවා. Wish you all a Happy & Prosperous Sinhala & Tamil New Year.

WCM Sayuni Gihansa Jayaweera won the crown in Women’s National Chess Championship 2019

WCM Sayuni Gihansa Jayaweera became the Queen of Sri Lanka Women’s Nationals which concluded on 08th July 2019. Sri Lanka National cycle was held from 28th June to 8th July 2019 at the Chess Federation of Sri Lanka Headquarters, Nugegoda.
This is the second time, Ms Sayuni became the Women’s National Champion in her Chess career. In the year 2017 also she grabbed that title with a great show.
This year, she scored 11.5 points out of 13 rounds and she is unbeaten throughout the event. Sayuni finished the event with 2.5 points leads with the first runner-up player.
Mr Gihan Kanchana De Silva always behind her success as the Coach and he did a marvellous job by preparing her for this toughest women’s event in Sri Lanka. We wish you all the for Sayuni and Gihan.